Breakwater (The Elemental Series #2)

You cannot just stop at Recurve… when I start rereading this series I also do the next books… so here is Breakwater! Please do not read this review, if you have not already read book 1 “Recurve” as I do not want to spoiler you!


My name is Larkspur, and I am an Elemental.

My people use the power of the earth to sustain life and defy our enemies. I should be at my father’s side as a royal princess. But as a half-breed, bastard child, that isn’t going to happen.

As an Ender, one of my father’s Elite guards, it’s my job to do as I’m told. When my older sister is sent as an ambassador to the realm of the water elementals–the Deep–I have no choice but to accompany her as her bodyguard.

With the death of the water elemental’s King, a deadly battle for the throne begins; a battle we are forced to choose sides in.

There are only a few things I know for sure. The ocean may be beautiful, but lurking in its depths are monsters to fear, the water I tread is teaming with danger and I am on my own.

With no one to help and no one to trust, I have to find a way to keep my sister safe and stop a civil war.

But the secrets within the Deep are far darker than any of us realized.

Welcome . . . welcome to the Deep.


“You, you did this to me.” I pushed the kids behind me. “I did. And I’d do it again.” Maybe not the best choice of words, but it was the truth. And as I was learning, the truth was not to be trifled with.

Mayer, Shannon. Breakwater (The Elemental Series Book 2) (S.177-178). Hijinks Ink Publishing. Kindle-Version.

Book two starts at the point Recurve ended. Larkspur may have saved her family but the actions she needed to take follow her into her home. That is why she already is assigned to a new mission: protecting her sister in the Deep. Lark is not exactly happy about this as her relationship with her sister is very strained and she still has no idea whom she can even trust, not only in the Deep but also in her home.

Lark is someone who wants to face challenges head on and not tries to talk around it. Therefore, having an ambassadors mission in the Deep with its already unstable political situation is nothing she can solve in her normal way. Nevertheless, her way of speaking her mind freely and being self-confident changes the people’s point of view and ensures the needed aid for this problem. If the first book was about not giving up, this one is about finding allies in the people surrounding you. Next to it, “Breakwater” is not only showing the situation in the Deep but also lets us see behind the curtain of the elementals politics. This book exceeded my expectations of “Recurve’s” sequel, it is filled with as much action, humor, and character development as needed, bringing turnings you never expected and still motivating the reader to be him- or herself. As most of Shannon Mayer’s books, this one is also totally recommendable.

 

Leave a Reply

