Recurve (The Elemental Series Book #1)

“I don’t need help.” “Maybe not today, but today is not tomorrow, and tomorrow may prove to be the day your world changes, Lark.”

Mayer, Shannon. Recurve (The Elemental Series Book 1) (S.42). Hijinks Ink Publishing. Kindle-Version.

Yeah, I have already gone back to one of Shannon Mayers books. To be precise, this is the book that I read first and therefore, it is the one that made me fall in love with her writing style. I reread it last week and I now want to share a bit of this experience with you!


My name is Larkspur, and I am an Elemental.

My people use the power of the earth to sustain life and defy our enemies. I should be at my father’s side as a royal princess. But as a half-breed, bastard child, that isn’t going to happen.

I’ve been accused of attacking the queen, my wicked stepmother, and my life is suddenly on the line. I have only two options left to me: banishment, or training to become one of the King’s Elite Guards, an Ender.
Option one will kill me.
Option two is meant to break me, but it’s the only way to survive.
Did I mention I have no power like the rest of the elementals, and my connection to the earth is worth next to nothing?
Could things get any worse? Of course, they can. Welcome to being an Elemental.

(source: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24969093-recurve)


The beautiful cover got me hooked up on this series, I adore the way, Shannon gives us a picture revealing the personality of the main character and the atmosphere of the story. Still, she never shows the person’s face on her covers, I love how this is the thing she leaves to the readers’ imagination.

The summary sounds a lot like the ones from Rylee Adamson series, surely not due to a coincidence. These two series do not only happen in the same world, they also intertwine more than once (shortly after book 4, and then another meeting of this characters will happen in the future). Nevertheless, they are both meant as independent series, so you do not have to read both series (I totally recommend it though… just because I love both).

The main character, Larkspur, starts as a girl with royal descent but still beeing called “useless” and not having a real place in the world. Larkspur is someone who will not give up easily and always trying to find a way. Furthermore, she is sarcastic and does not back off from a fight. The story starts at the point everything goes from normal to a total disaster for her. Everything starts to spin out of control when she gets accused to have attacked the queen, now she needs to fight for her place in her family.

My legs barely held me up and it wasn’t because I was hurt. Shock coursed through me, numbing my muscles and shutting down my mind. This was not how elementals treated one another. No one was stoned, or heckled, not even those considered useless or mad. They were all treated with respect. Yet why was I surprised? I was the only one in our family not treated with any sort of dignity. This moment was an extension of my whole life.

Mayer, Shannon. Recurve (The Elemental Series Book 1) (S.48). Hijinks Ink Publishing. Kindle-Version.

The viewers are plunged straight into the story when starting this book. Additionally, the fast pace the story moves forward ensures that the reader will stay excited throughout the whole series. Even so, I did not miss anything in the story’s or the characters’ development though some things will only get explained in a later book of the series. Shannon Mayer already starts to put little premonitions of what was to come in Recurve, surprising people like me who reread this book.  To me, Shannon Mayer writes fantasy books that feel similar to our everyday life, showing that fighting trough obstacles and struggling are worth it.

If you search for a wonderful urban fantasy series with action and humor in it as much as with a good feeling to it, you should check out this series!

Leave a Reply

